Pancakes

The dinner of pancakes was delayed to tonight.  As I was leaving the house to buy syrup and baking powder Husband handed me some of his cash stash (good to know he has one ;)) and said let’s get takeaway.

So we bundled into the car and drove to Au Lac in Dickson.

Now if you live in Canberra or Wollongong and have not eaten at this fantastic vegan restaurant, do yourself a favour and get on it.  They offer and large range of soy meat, tofu and vegetables in the style of Vietnamese cuisine.  But that is not the best part.  They have the most delicious deep fried soy ice cream in the world.

2016-05-27 18.28.47.jpg

I ate waaay too much and went to bed early instead of working (it was one of my normal Uber nights)

So tonight we have pancakes.  And I will share with you the two secrets to the best pancakes you will ever make.  Coconut oil instead of traditional oil and chickpea brine instead of egg/egg replacement.  I use the basic recipe from better homes and garden cookbook from the 70s which I stole from my mother when I moved out.

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar (I sometimes sub applesauce to be healthier and it still works well)

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoon oil

1 egg

1 cup milk

If you eat real servings like we do, three each adult and sir toddler will eat two, I’d recommend doubling the batch.  You will have a couple left over for a snack.  Spread some organic almond butter on it for the child.  🙂

Leave a Reply

